My Baby Brother(s) – Mom’s version

“We had gone to Dodge the year Dave was born. I had checked with the doctor to be sure it was okay to travel and he said there was no problem. 195402CrawfordDave-FinallyHome

I started hemorrhaging that night, though, and went to the hospital. The twins were born the next day and Duane lived about 24 hours. We had just started potty training  you (Marcia) and the fact that I wasn’t around sure upset the apple cart. You (Marcia) were really a good girl for Grandma Crawford though. Of course in those days they didn’t allow kids to visit in the hospitals so it was hard on both of us. Then Gene had to return to Emporia before we cold. We finally got to go home on the train (leaving Dave in the hospital with Grandma to go in and watch him). Grandma brought Dave home on Valentine’s day. He was so little I carried him around on a pillow.”

from a letter by Roberta Crawford dated 1998

Previous post ‘My Baby Brothers’